JCN small logo JCN bowling-ball animated banner gluten free - celiac symbol

Your Zone's Date & Time is:


===============================

Countdown to Erev Chanukah 5773 / 2012

===============================

JCN large logo
Free Speech campaign online

Jewish Celiacs Newsletter, P.O. Box 45798, Phila., PA 19149
https://www.jewishceliacs.com


Open 24 Hours graphic
     
<MMString:LoadString>
This web site has been tested
in all leading browsers!

Jewish Celiacs Newsletter

Street (Paper) Editions


JCN-(First Edition)-2001

JCN 2007-Vol.1, Nos.1, 2, 3

(Prior JCN editions can be found here.)

### JEWISH DISEASES ###

(Tay Sachs, Canavan, Gaucher's, etc.)

check for Jewish Celiacs Blog-InJewish Celiacs Blog-In

MSN Groups / JewishCeliacs
(My 2nd Site - had 99 Members)
MSN Groups, closed by Microsoft!

Today, on the Jewish Calendar it is...

Provided by Jewish Holidays Online

Plan around today!

2 stalks of wheat

Food Groups - Allowed & Not Allowed

The following Food Groups Chart was taken from Food and Nutrition Services, The University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (1996). Gluten Restricted, Gliadin Free Diet. Iowa City, Iowa: The University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.

This chart has been "modified" to deal with what is considered to be Kosher and Gluten (gliadin) Free and what is "suitable" for Celiacs in each Blood Type Group (A), (B), (AB) and (O)! Each "suitable" food, or beverage will be marked with the appropriate BTG (Blood Type Group), meaning OK, or as Dr. Peter J. D'Adamo, auther of the Blood Type Diet, would term them, Beneficial, or at least Neutral. What all BTGs should Avoid as the doctor would say will be marked with an (X). A (?) denotes that the item is either too general, or it is not known. The Blood Type Diet will be explained in more detail here.

NOTE: The following food items in the following FOOD GROUPS, whether they are ALLOWED, or NOT ALLOWED, are either specified as being KOSHER ( * ), or NOT KOSHER ( ^). Furthermore, if there are any exceptions in any FOOD GROUP, they will be mentioned. For a list of companies that sell Gluten-Free food (and vitamins and meds) and organizations, which certify food (and vitamins and meds) to be Kosher, you can go to Celiac FAQs, Kosher FAQs, K-GF Vitamins and K-GF Meds. Look for changes and updates from time to time.

NOTE: The following foods should be good for Celiacs ("gluten-free") of all Blood Types, and are Beneficial, or Neutral. If you were to throw a dinner party and wanted to invite only Celiacs (Non-Secretors), consider the following foods below the next paragraph when you go shopping for the goods:

Kosher-minded people will notice that a food item in red is Not Kosher! All vegetables, fruits and beans/nuts/legunes are kosher except when maybe combined with something else. All Beneficial items, beneficial to all BTs will have an asterisk " ** " to the right of them! Check with Dr. D'Adamo's web site for more information on what individual Blood Types should eat. Many of my possibilities are not on the list below, nor is it complete in my estimation, however it is much more than a great start on Dr. D'Adamo's part! If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions, e-mail me at .

*** For an up-to-date list of all food that are good for all Celiacs (Non-Secretors) of all Blood Types, go here!

*** For an up-to-date list of all food that are NOT good for all Celiacs (Non-Secretors) of all Blood Types, go here!


Food: Good For All Celiacs (Non-Secretors) Of All Blood Types

Note: Other dietary problems such as food allergies notwithstanding, the following lists should make your life a little easier. Remember! If it's colored red, it's tref (unclean, or unfit by Kashrut), but acceptable to all Celiacs in general. Everyone can put ones marked with a ** (Beneficial) on their shopping lists for sure. Ex. - Bluefish is OK for all Celiacs of all Blood Types, but not for non-Celiacs with BT A.

MEAT: goat, ostrich, pheasant, rabbit, turkey

FISH: bluefish, bullhead, butterfish, carp, (kosher fish) caviar [roe], chub, cod**, croaker, cusk, drum, grouper, halfmoon fish, harvest fish, herring, mackerel**, mahi-mahi, monkfish, mullet, opaleye fish, orange roughy, parrotfish, perch (ocean, silver, white & yellow), pickerel, pike, pompano, porgy, red snapper, rosefish, sailfish, salmon, sardine**, scrod, scup, shad, shark, smelt, snail, sturgeon, sucker, sunfish, swordfish, tilapia, tilefish, tuna, weakfish, whitefish

DIARY: ghee [clarified butter]

EGG: chicken egg [white & yolk]

BEAN/LEGUME: cannelli bean, green/snap/string bean, northern bean, snap bean, white bean

NUT/SEED: almond & almond butter, butternut, flaxseed [linseed], hickory, macadamia, pecan & pecan butter, walnut [black** & English**]

GRAIN: amaranth, Essene [Manna] Bread, Ezekiel Bread, millet, quinoa, rice [cream of, puffed, white, brown, Basmati, wild, bran, cake, flour, milk]

VEGETABLE/VEG. JUICE: arugula, asparagus/asparagus pea, bamboo shoot, beet/beet greens**, bok choy, broccoli**, carrot/carrot juice, celeriac, celery/celery juice, chicory, collard greens**, daikon radish, dandelion, endive, escarole, fennel, fiddlehead fern, garlic, ginger**, horseradish, kale**, kelp, kohlrabi, lettuce (plain & Romaine), mushroom (enoki, maitake, oyster, portobello, straw), mustard greens, okra, onion (red, Spanish, yellow, white, green), oyster plant, parsnip, pea (green, pod, snow), pimento, pumpkin, radicchio, rappini, rutabaga, scallion, seaweed shallot, spinach/spinach juice, squash, Swiss chard, tomato/tomato juice, turnip, water chestnut, watercress, zucchini

FRUIT/FRUIT JUICE: blueberry, boysenberry, breadfruit, canang melon, cherry (all)**, cherry juice (black)**, Christmas melon, cranberry/cranberry juice, crenshaw melon, currants (black & red), elderberry (dark, blue, purple), fig (fresh & dried)**, gooseberry, grape (all), grapefruit/grapefruit juice, kumquat, lemon/lemon juice, lime/lime juice, loganberry, mulberry, muskmelon, nectarine/nectarine juice, peach, pear/pear juice, Persian melon, pineapple/pineapple juice, plum (dark, green, red)**, raisin, raspberry, Spanish melon, water & lemon

OIL: almond oil, black currant seed oil, flax seed (linseed) oil, olive oil**, walnut oil**

HERB/SPICE: arrowroot, basil, bay leaf, bergamot, caraway, cardamom, carob, chervil, chives, chocalate, cilantro, clove, coriander, cream of tartar, cumin, curry, dill, dulse, licorice root, marjoram, mustard (dry), oregano, paprika, parsley, peppermint, rosemary, saffron, sage, savory, spearmint, taramind, tarragon, thyme, turmeric

CONDIMENT: apple pectin, jam & jelly [if it's OK ingredients], mustard (wheat-free & vinegar-free), salad dressing [if OK ingredients], sea salt, yeast (Baker's & Brewer's)

SWEETNER: molasses, molasses (blackstrap)

BEVERAGE: green tea**, wine (red)**


NOTE: All updated items, by JCN, are both emboldened and italicized as such. Refer to Kosher, GF, all BT list of foods above to round out what you see below.

Kosher / Gluten-Free Food Groups (including Blood Types - A, B, AB & O)
FOOD GROUP
(General)
NO GLUTEN
*Allowed
(General)
GLUTEN
*Not Allowed
(General)
KOSHER
(Specific)
NOT KOSHER
(Specific)
Beverages
Coffee (A), [black] tea (A), carbonated drinks (X), wine [red] made in U.S. (A), (B), (AB) and (O), rum (B) & (AB), some root beer (?) Ovaltine, malted milk, ale, beer, gin, whiskey, flavored coffee, herbal tea with malted barley All beverages except from animals, fish and poultry (birds) that are not allowed in Torah. All beverages that are from animals, fish and poultry (birds) that are not allowed in Torah. Blood.
Milk Fresh, dry, evaporated, or condensed [cow] milk (B); cream (B); sour cream (B) & (AB); whipping cream (?); yogurt (A), (B) & (AB) Malted milk, some commercial chocolate milk, some nondairy creamers Milk , cheese and cream from animals that are ruminants and have both "split hooves and that chew their cud" such as cows and goats are permitted. As allowed in Torah. Milk, cheese and cream from animals that are not ruminants and do not have both "split hooves and that chew their cud" such as pigs are not permitted. As not allowed in Torah.
Meat, Pork, Fish, Poultry Fresh meats (O), pork (X), fish, other seafood (?), most popular shellfish (O), and poultry [chicken (A), (O)]; fish in canned oil, brine, or water [sardine (A), (B), (AB) & (O)]; some hot dogs (X) and lunch meats (X) Prepared meat containing wheat, rye, oats, or barley; tuna canned in vegetable broth All Meat from animals that are ruminants and have both "split hooves and that chew their cud"  such cows, sheep, goats, deer and buffaloes or bisons.
All Fish with "scales and fins" such as tuna, salmon and flounder.
All Poultry (birds in Torah) - by tradition such as chickens, turkeys, ducks and geese). As allowed in Torah.
All Meat from animals that are not ruminants and that do not have both "split hooves and that chew their cud" such as pigs and camels.
All Fish without "scales and fins" such as catfish, dogfish, monkfish, sharks, dolphins, whales, squid and all shellfish.
All Poultry (birds in Torah) such as hawks, eagles and other wild birds. As not allowed in Torah.
FOOD GROUP
(General)
NO GLUTEN
*Allowed
(General)
GLUTEN
*Not Allowed
(General)
KOSHER
(Specific)
NOT KOSHER
(Specific)
Cheese All aged cheese (?), such as cheddar (AB), Swiss (X), edam (B) & (AB), Parmesan (X); cottage cheese (A), (B) & (AB); pasteurized processed cheese (?); cheese spreads (?) Any cheese product containing oat gum, some veined cheeses (bleu, stilton, roquefort, gorgonzola) Cheese from animal that are ruminants and that have both "split hooves and that chew their cud" such as cows and goats are permitted. As allowed in Torah. Cheese from animals that are not ruminants and that do not have both "split hooves and that chew their cud" such as pigs and camels are not permitted. As not allowed in Torah.
Potato, or Other Starch White (AB) and sweet potatoes (B), (AB) & (O), yams (B), (AB) & (O), hominy (X), rice & wild rice (A), (B), (AB) & (O), gluten-free noodles (A), (B), (AB) & (O), some oriental rice (A), (B), (AB) & (O) and bean thread noodles (?) Regular noodles, spaghetti, macaroni, most packaged rice mixes, seminola, spinach noodles, frozen potato products with wheat flour added All potatoes and other starches are permitted. As allowed in Torah. None
Cereals Hot cereals made from cornmeal (X), Cream of Rice (A), (B), (AB) & (O), hominy (X), rice (A), (B), (AB) & (O); Puffed Rice (A), (B), (AB) & (O), Kellogg's Corn Pops (X), cereals made without malt (X) All cereals containing wheat, rye, oats, or barley (X); bran (X); graham (X); wheat germ (X); durum (X); kaska (if it is kasha - not true); bulgar (X); buckwheat (A)(@ not true); millet (A), (B), (AB) & (O)(#); triticale [hybrid of wheat & rye] (X); amaranth (A), (B), (AB) & (O)(#); spelt [emmer or einkorn] (X); teff (A) & (O)(#); quinoa (A), (B), (AB) & (O)(#); kamut (A) & (O) All grains as allowed in Torah. "Chometz" (prohibited grains such as wheat, rye, oats, barley and spelt) plus corn and rice, during Pesach.
FOOD GROUP
(General)
NO GLUTEN
*Allowed
(General)
GLUTEN
*Not Allowed
(General)
KOSHER
(Specific)
NOT KOSHER
(Specific)
Breads Specially prepared breads using only allowed flours like rice, quinoa, teff, amaranth, millet, Essene & Ezekiel Breads for (A), (B), (AB) and (O), and oat for -(A), (B), (AB) - (?)(?)(?) and kamut (A) & (O) All breads containing wheat, rye, oat, or barley flours and grains listed above (X) All grains as allowed in Torah. "Chometz" (prohibited grains such as wheat, rye, oats, barley and spelt) plus corn and rice, during Pesach.
Flours and Thickening Agents

Arrowroot starch (A), (B), (AB) and (O), [corn bran (X), corn flour (X), corn germ (X), cornmeal (X), corn starch (X)], [potato flour, potato starch flour (AB)], [rice bran, rice flour (white and brown), rice polish, rice starch (A), (B), (AB) & (O)], | soy flour (A), tapioca starch (A) & (B), bean and lentil flours (?), nut flours (?)

 

** See @ or #

[ buckwheat @, quinoa - (#) ]

Amaranth (#), wheat germ, bran, wheat starch; all flours containing wheat, rye, oats, or barley; buckwheat (@ not true); spelt; quinoa (#); teff; kamut; millet (#)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

** See @ or #

[ buckwheat @, quinoa - (#) ]

All grains, beans and peas as allowed in Torah.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

** See @ or #

[ buckwheat @, quinoa - (#) ]

"Chometz" (prohibited grains such as wheat, rye, oats, barley and spelt) plus corn and rice and also legumes, mustard seed and the Biblical kitnyos plant during Pesach.
NOTE: Some add buckwheat, which is not a grain.

 

 

 

** See @ or #

[ buckwheat @, quinoa - (#) ]

Vegetables All plain, fresh, frozen (?), or canned vegetables (?); dried peas and beans (?); lentils (A) & (AB); some commercially prepared vegetables (?) Creamed vegetables, vegetables canned in sauce, some canned baked beans, commercially prepared vegetables and salads All vegetables. As allowed in Torah. None - except the Biblical kitnyos plant?
FOOD GROUP
(General)
NO GLUTEN
*Allowed
(General)
GLUTEN
*Not Allowed
(General)
KOSHER
(Specific)
NOT KOSHER
(Specific)
Fruits All fresh, frozen (?), canned (?), or dried fruits; all fruit juices (?); some canned pie fillings (?) Thickened or prepared fruits; some pie fillings; raisins and dried dates that have been dusted with flour All fruits. As allowed in Torah. None
Fats Butter (B) & (O), margarine (?), vegetable oil (?), nuts (?), peanut butter (A) & (AB), hydrogenated vegetable oils (?), some salad dressings (?), mayonnaise (?), nonstick cooking sprays (?) Some commercial salad dressings, wheat germ oil, nondairy cream substitutes, most commercial gravies and sauces All fat from animal from animals that are ruminants and are allowed in Torah such as ones that "do have split hooves and chew their cud" such as cows and goats. All vegetables, nuts and seeds are good. As allowed in Torah. All fats from animals that are not ruminants and are not allowed in Torah such as the ones that "do not have split hooves and chew their cud." As not allowed in Torah.
Soups Homemade broth and soups made with allowed ingredients (?), some commercially canned soups (?), specialty dry soup mixes (?) Most canned soups and mixes, bouillon and bouillon cubes with hydrolyzed vegetable protein All soups including ones that contain meat, fish and poultry (birds) that are allowed to be eaten in Torah. (SEE ABOVE). Soups that contain animals (meat and poultry) or milk. As allowed in Torah. All soups excluding ones that contain meat, fish and poultry (birds) that are not allowed to be eaten in Torah. (SEE ABOVE). Soups that contain both animals (meat and poultry) and milk. As not allowed in Torah. Blood.
FOOD GROUP
(General)
NO GLUTEN
*Allowed
(General)
GLUTEN
*Not Allowed
(General)
KOSHER
(Specific)
NOT KOSHER
(Specific)
Desserts Cakes (?), quick breads (?), pastries (?), and puddings made with allowed ingredients (?); cornstarch (X), tapioca (A) & (B), and rice (white and brown) puddings; some pudding mixes; custard (?); ice cream with few simple ingredients (X); sorbet (?); meringues (?); mousse (?); sherbets (?); frozen yogurt (A), (B) & (AB) Commercial cakes, cookies; pies made with wheat, rye, oats, or barley; millet (#), amaranth (#), buckwheat (@ not true), spelt, teff (#), quinoa (#), kamut; prepared mixes; puddings; ice cream cones; Jell-O instant pudding; cream fillings; products made with brown rice syrup (not true - unless barley malt is included) All desserts including ones that contain meat, fish and poultry (birds) that are allowed to be eaten in Torah. (SEE ABOVE). Desserts that contain animals (meat and poultry) or milk. As allowed in Torah. All desserts excluding ones that contain meat, fish and poultry (birds) that are not allowed to be eaten in Torah. (SEE ABOVE). Desserts that contain both animals (meat and poultry) and milk. As not allowed in Torah. Blood.
Sweets

Jelly and jam (A), (B), (AB) & (O), honey (A) & (B), brown and white sugar (A), molasses (A), (B), (AB) & (O), most syrups (?) (pure maple) (A) & (B), some candy (?), chocolate, pure cocoa, coconut, marshmallows

*** Watch out for 'corn syrup' in jelly jams!

Commercial candies dusted with wheat flour, butterscotch chips; flavored syrups; sweets containing malt/malt flavorings; some brown rice syrup; some corn syrup All sweets including ones that contain meat, fish and poultry (birds) that are allowed to be eaten in Torah. (SEE ABOVE). NOTE: You can eat honey, but not the bee. All sweets excluding ones that contain meat, fish and poultry (birds) that are not allowed to be eaten in Torah. (SEE ABOVE).
Misc. Items Salt (?), pepper (X), herbs (?), herb extracts (?), food coloring (?), cloves (A), (B), (AB) & (O), allspice (A) & (O), ginger (A), (B), (AB) & (O), nutmeg (A), (B), (AB) & (O), cinnamon (A) & (AB), chili powder (A), (B), (AB) & (O), tomato puree and paste (A), (B), (AB) & (O), olives (Black)-(X) (Greek/Spanish)-(AB) , (Green)-(AB), active dry yeast (A), (B), (AB) & (O), bicarbonate of soda (?), baking powder (?), cream of tartar (A), (B), (AB) & (O), dry mustard (A), (B), (AB) & (O), some condiments (?), apple cider (A), (B), & (AB), rice or wine vinegar (?) Curry powder, dry seasonings mixes, gravy extracts, meat sauces, catsup (ketchup), mustard, horseradish, chip dips, most soy sauce, some distilled white vinegar, instant dry baking yeast, some cinnamon, condiments made with wheat-derived distilled (white) vinegars, communion wafers/bread, some alcohol-based flavoring extracts, (matzos and matzo ball soups, chain, bagels, rye and pumpernickel, herring bits and salad, bowties) A certain species of grasshopper known in Torah, but not known to exist today. All seaweed. All things including those that contain meat, fish and poultry (birds) that are allowed to be eaten in Torah. (SEE ABOVE). All insects, shellfish, crustaceans and other invertebrates. All things including ones that contain meat, fish and poultry (birds) that are not allowed to be eaten in Torah. (SEE ABOVE). Blood.
FOOD GROUP
(General)
NO GLUTEN
*Allowed
(General)
GLUTEN
*Not Allowed
(General)
KOSHER
(Specific)
NOT KOSHER
(Specific)
     (#) - not true by Canadian standards.
@ - Make sure "buckwheat -kasha- flour" has no wheat added to it.
Jewish Celiacs Newsletter - Health Web Site Disclaimer
View Kosher Symbols!

"Additional Info"

Coming soon!

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions, e-mail me at .

Startpage




animated mail box with blinking eyes About Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Contact Us | Copyright ?2006 - 2012 Sid Karp / Jewish Celiacs, All Rights Reserved